Drawings to Final Art: Granny Loves Brains

Very soon (October 21st) you’ll be able to get your hands on this great little book I did the illustrations for.

Zombies Love Brains is a salutary tale for young readers, aged 3 and over, which explains that becoming a zombie is no reason to be impolite to others, or to take things that don’t belong to you without asking first.

You can order a copy on Amazon here.

Here’s how I went from sketches to final art for just one page.

granny-loves-brandyZombies love brains more than granny loves brandy. And here she is in all her wrinkly glory. She’s not even dead, just pickled in brandy like the teeth in her glass.

granny-inked
Here int he inking stage, still an area I really want to improve in, I had all sorts of trouble deciding what to do with the dog’s left leg.

granny-color
All that sorted out we have old Blue the faithful hound with something in his jaws. I think it’s a zombie hand.
zlb-pg6
And here’s the final art.

I’m still moving towards better color and line work over time. Many of the scanned images lack the pop of the original art though it’s often hard to tell unless they are side by side.

So keep an eye out as more and more zombies invade this Halloween and if you’re looking for a fun Halloween story for your kids, I’m sure you’ll love this one.

Published by

Mike Kloran

I am an Educational Designer from Brooklyn New York. I'm a teacher, an artist, an athlete and constantly doing, making, drawing, creating! It's a busy life but I'm doing what I love and that's what matters most to me!

Leave a Reply

