Could you survive here?

As I walk to work each day along the river I pass under bridges and past hovels where people are surviving. I won’t call it living because I have a feeling they might choose a different place of residence if they could.

Who knows, maybe it’s just where they want to be. I won’t judge.

But there they are, cats roaming all over, piles of cans waiting to be turned in for the recycling money. They are surviving, getting by. And I think how much better suited they are for surviving the end of things. How if a really bad quake struck or a storm, or if Fuji off in the background exploded what they’d do? But I know they’d role with it. They’d pick up and keep going. And how everyone else would sort of fall apart.

I’m not totally sold on “Fear the Walking Dead” yet but there’s a line at the end of season one where the drug addict son says that now everyone is where he’s at. It kind of shows how he’s suited for survival in that world because for him the world was already crazy as hell.

I don’t know if I could survive like this but I hope if things got REALLY bad, I could keep on rolling.

We’ll wait and see I suppose.
shelter

hovel

Published by

Mike Kloran

Educational Designer from Brooklyn New York. I'm a teacher, an artist, an athlete and constantly doing, making, drawing, creating! It's a busy life but I'm doing what I love and that's what matters most to me!

Leave a Reply

