Burning Heart

How is it that images of death can be so beautiful?

Most people who know me would describe me as squeamish and maybe overly careful. My students, (I’m a teacher,) are tired of me constantly saying “Be careful,” every time we do an activity and my son tells me to be careful because I just have a habit of saying it so often.

Although I love horror movies I find the site of blood or bruises horrifying in real life. So it’s not images of real death we are talking about here but fictional images of the dead, zombies, monsters or this AMAZING image I came across a while back.

I have to apologize here too because I found this image some time ago, saved it and can’t for the life of me remember where I got it. If you recognize it and can ID the artist I would REALLY like to give him or her credit because this is a gorgeous image.

burning heart
There is so much going on here, this image presents a character both incredibly frail and at the same time powerful. The knocked out front teeth make it seem harmless and pathetic while the same missing teeth accentuate the teeth next to them almost like animal canines or vampire fangs.

The missing eyes, nose and hair make it appear weak, frail, old, yet the whole thing is glowing with this otherworldly power.

I love this image. No matter how horrible and repulsive I find real-life images of death and horror, something in the artwork and the depiction of death is endlessly beautiful.

Published by

Mike Kloran

Educational Designer from Brooklyn New York. I'm a teacher, an artist, an athlete and constantly doing, making, drawing, creating! It's a busy life but I'm doing what I love and that's what matters most to me!

Leave a Reply

