Happy Halloween 2015

Happy Halloween everybody!

Once again I’ve come down with a horrible cold this year so I’ve ended up having to scrap going out and just enjoy the day a bit at home which I have but I really wanted to go out.

Well making up for that I spent some time on my pumpkin with a bit of help from my son!

the raw pumpkin
The raw pumpkin.
pumkin cutting tool

I found this fun little video this year that showed how to make this cool carving tool. It’s a pencil with a hairpin taped to the end with a rubber grip slipped over the top.

It worked pretty well but do yourself a favor and REALLY tape that thing down. Otherwise it’ll slip a bit which can be a bit annoying.

it glows 2it glows
Here he is all lit up.

painting pumpkin eyes
This is my son painting the pumpkin’s teeth. I found that it started to deteriorate really quickly after having the outer skin stripped away. So a little acrylic paint is a good way to keep it looking good. And since my two-year-old can’t do a lot of the cutting the paint was a nice way for us to work together.

the final product
The finished product!

Yes, that is an X-mas tree in the background but don’t worry, it’s decorated with skulls.

creepy kid newspaper

Incidentally the pumpkin came wrapped in this paper which ripped when I moved the pumpkin on the table. It’s just a disturbing image but that’s half the fun of halloween.

Published by

Mike Kloran

I am an Educational Designer from Brooklyn New York. I'm a teacher, an artist, an athlete and constantly doing, making, drawing, creating! It's a busy life but I'm doing what I love and that's what matters most to me!

Leave a Reply

