Tales of the Living Dead

This is an interesting TV show I’ve just come across. It’s available on YouTube and I’ll share one episode below.

I’ve just started watching it so I can’t speak to the whole series but it is the kind of thing I really enjoy watching. It’s a documentary series about history that attempts to help us understand the context of the people whose lives we see in their remains and grave goods. All these grave goods, bodies, bones and even the burials or mummification themselves help build a picture about how they lived, and how the people in their communities viewed death.

As with a lot of shows like this there is a certain amount of dramatization of the stories but not to the degree I’m used to. For the most part the narrator’s voice seems to convey fact, not drama, information, not emotion; and that’s something we should al appreciate.

Take a look at a few episodes like me this afternoon. At only 25 minutes each they are pretty easy to binge on.

Published by

Mike Kloran

Educational Designer from Brooklyn New York. I'm a teacher, an artist, an athlete and constantly doing, making, drawing, creating! It's a busy life but I'm doing what I love and that's what matters most to me!

Leave a Reply

