Night of the Day of the Dawn of the Son of the Bride of the Return of the Terror

A while back I remember a bunch of people quoting this movie called Night of the Dawn of the Day of the something or other. I finally got around to watching it this weekend only to realize I’d already seen it but I can’t remember when. In Uni? Did I see it last year? No clue.

Well, after all this time, here it is: Night of the Day of the Dawn of the Son of the Bride of the Return of the Revenge of the Terror of the Attack of the Evil, Mutant, Alien, Flesh Eating, Hellbound, Zombified Living Dead Part 2: In Shocking 2-D
Night-of-the-day-of-the-dawn-part-2
The Poster:  (aka the DVD cover.)
Is pretty amazing. it’s a fun illustrations of some nasty zombies in a kind of gross, kind of comedic look. The text is awful but this isn’t exactly big-budget humor. What we are talking abut is an old copy of Night of the Living Dead that got dubbed over by a guy named James Riffel with alternate dialogue and a few short extra clips like where they make a jab at Romero for not getting a copyright or where the guy doing the voice over tells some pretty rotten old jokes.

The Good: 
It’s funny.
There are a bunch of moments where I find myself laughing despite myself. Weird little things like the sound Riffel makes for headlights being smashed or the way Barbara looks around for a duck when she first enters the house.

The Bad: 
It’s not funny.
Most of the jokes are dated and pretty poorly put together. It’s like something your cousin Steve made when he was drunk in Uni which seemed brilliant at the time because you were stoned out of your gourd. The dubbing never matches the actors’ mouths and it’s not even the first time this sort of thing was done. I remember a whole series of these things on Nick at Night back in the day.

The Ugly: 
Every copy I’ve come across is pretty rotten, but then a lot of copies of Night of The Living Dead are pretty rough looking.

Published by

Mike Kloran

I am an Educational Designer from Brooklyn New York. I'm a teacher, an artist, an athlete and constantly doing, making, drawing, creating! It's a busy life but I'm doing what I love and that's what matters most to me!

Leave a Reply

