Going Without

Gahndi
How good at you at going without? Most people bitch and complain when they can’t get a wifi signal or their phone drops a call. Maybe they cry like children because they can’t get their morning Grande Latte enema. In any emergency situation like an earthquake, flood or our favorite, the zombie apocalypse, people are going to go without. It’s guaranteed. So being able to go without seems like a pretty smart idea.

Fasting has gotten a lot of attention for its apparent health benefits over the past few years. And anyone who has tried to lose weight or get in shape can tell you self control can be a real bitch. So performing a few occasional fasts might be a good way to stay disciplined, healthy and ready, just in case. And, because I know someone is going to think fasting means starving yourself, NO, don’t do that. Don’t be stupid. Eat healthy. But don’t be afraid to eat a little less or to space your meals out. Try going one day from sun up to sun down without chowing down on tons of food. Your fat ass could probably stand it.

Discipline also means going without the creature comforts. There’s a lot of peace and benefit to be found in not owning tons of crap you don’t need. My dorm room back in my first and second years in university were a disastrous assortment of crap. Today, I’m happy when I can get rid of a little more, make a little more open space in my home, simplify my clutter and focus on what really satisfies me in my illustration and my work. So, try doing a clearing out, maybe hold off on buying that third television. Do you really need it? Or the second one? Or the first one for that matter? (I don’t even own a TV and I love it.)

Published by

Mike Kloran

I am an Educational Designer from Brooklyn New York. I'm a teacher, an artist, an athlete and constantly doing, making, drawing, creating! It's a busy life but I'm doing what I love and that's what matters most to me!

Leave a Reply

