Rick Grimes

If you’re going to get your hands dirty, you might as well have a name like Rick GRIMEs.

Rick’s an interesting character I’ve compared him to Jack on LOST in other posts too. Jack was good looking and earnest, the suffering hero who never wanted to be a leader especially in a survival situation, but had it thrust upon him. He was surrounded by people who argued with him every step of the way but still said he was the leader. Oh, wait. Was that Rick? Sorry, They are so similar it’s hard to tell them apart sometimes.

The big difference to me is that Jack was so damned stubborn and seemed to have a change of heart or character only after great hardship. Oh, damn. There I go again. That was both of them too wasn’t it. And didn’t they both have hillbilly, heartthrob side kicks? Didn’t those sidekicks end up torturing people making the group question the right and wrong of what they are doing? And didn’t those hillbilly heartthrobs also end up in the woods with a stash of alcohol playing “Never Have I Ever” with attractive female members of their respective groups? Hmm, yeah they did.

Ok, well the real difference to me was that I liked Jack in the short run. He was a good guy. It wasn’t until later that I stepped back and looked at his actions in the long run and found that he was actually kind of an asshole. He shouted down everyone he ever met, he got the group in trouble and never really succeeded in bringing people together who weren’t going to work together anyway. With Rick I feel like I don’t like him in the short run but over time he keeps getting better. I actually feel sorry for Rick. He’s suffering, bad. He’s trying so hard to keep everyone safe and it just isn’t working. He’s getting stronger but it’s costing him.

And if you’ve read the comics . . . you know it’ going to keep on costing him.

Rick Grimes

Published by

Mike Kloran

I am an Educational Designer from Brooklyn New York. I'm a teacher, an artist, an athlete and constantly doing, making, drawing, creating! It's a busy life but I'm doing what I love and that's what matters most to me!

Leave a Reply

