The Fear Around Us

bad dreams
…but I closed that door, and the light was off.

The scariest places we know are all around us. There’s this misleading statistic that says most accidents happen within twenty miles of the home. This may be true but MOST travel is within twenty miles of home anyway so basically most accidents happen where people are most. Makes sense. It’s the same way with getting scared. Sure, new places can and often are scary. Getting lost, having to walk down a dark side street or seeing a strange person are creepy. But that comes with the territory. You know it’s going to happen.

Real terror comes at home.

When you come home and the house is empty, you know you’re alone and then you hear something.
When you wake up and there’s  a sliver of light coming in a door you know you closed.
Waking up and finding someone standing next to your bed, only to realize it’s a giant stuffed animal.
Your son playing near the window. This one scares the hell out of me. He’s at this age where he loves climbing up and down the stairs all day. His latest adventure is putting a chair on a table and trying to stand on the chair. I can’t look away for a second. He’s trying to give me a heart attack I’m sure of it.

Published by

Mike Kloran

I am an Educational Designer from Brooklyn New York. I'm a teacher, an artist, an athlete and constantly doing, making, drawing, creating! It's a busy life but I'm doing what I love and that's what matters most to me!

Leave a Reply

