Camping Cars and Zombies

A few months ago I got dragged to a car show. I’m just not much of a car person but my friends are and the person I went with is obsessed with getting one of these camping cars. I was walking around the showroom when one of the models reminded me of Dale’s camper in the early days of the Walking Dead.

And suddenly I loved the car show. I thought to myself, “Hey! Which one of these would I want to have on the road in case of the zombie apocalypse.”

dethleffs front
Bigger isn’t always better:
A lot of the top-end vehicles were pretty fancy. Some of them were really just buses that could extend sections to make rooms bigger and even housed cars in their undercarriages or storage areas. Although they seemed cool in a gadgety, G.I. Joe sort of way they aren’t what you want.

More parts and bigger machines means more can go wrong. It means less maneuverability on roads clogged with debris, dead and abandoned vehicles. And neat features like the sports car in the boot seem cool on kids toys but don’t really work so well in real life. They require a lot more maintenance and work and time to deploy than most people might think.

dethleffs rearLadders: 
When I saw this my first thought was zombies on the roof. So any sir tot external extras like tires, ladders, bike racks etc. should be geared towards keeping zombies off and people safe. This ladder looked sturdy but it didn’t look retractable which made me nervous. 

interior 2Lighten the Load:
Since these are luxury vehicles they come with a lot of little extras like flat screen TVs and other comforts. Trash them. Get them out of there. They make the vehicle heavier and again, more parts means more can go wrong. Simplify, simplify, simplify. That’s the name of the game here.

interiorFlexible Space:
The interior should be a little flexible. Tables can fold or collapse to hide away and make opens space and beads or cots usually do the same. This makes for a versatile interior to match your needs and could provide good hiding spots.

torotterThis one was one of my favorites. It was small enough to be maneuverable but big enough to house a family indefinitely. The big windows are a bit of an issue but I lie visibility. More than likely they would have to modified with chicken wire or something.

torotter2And I even like the name. To Rotter!

 

 

Published by

Mike Kloran

Educational Designer from Brooklyn New York. I'm a teacher, an artist, an athlete and constantly doing, making, drawing, creating! It's a busy life but I'm doing what I love and that's what matters most to me!

2 thoughts on “Camping Cars and Zombies”

  1. after you get one of these you will need to Mod it out to handle the conditions Post Event. I recommend chains for the tire and a bumper like that of the front of s train so you can move broken down cars and debris out of the way.

    Like

    1. That’s brilliant thinking. I’ll have to look around for some examples on how to do the modifications.

      Like

Leave a Reply

