Psychics

psychics
I thought these fellows were a rare breed in the zombie world but over the past year I’ve seen a LOT of horror movies featuring reanimated corpses that have dealt with some sort of psychic or occult powers. For the most part this was an extension of the times, the sort of popularity psychics and the occult had in the 70’s and 80’s was reflected in the horror movies of the time.

Recently I reviewed the movie One Dark Night, which features the most psychic zombie I’ve ever seen. Instead of a survivor trying to use their powers to outwit the dead stalking them, this was the body of a powerful psychic who returned to life, or perhaps never really died, simply through his power over the life force. (A far superior movie I might add.)

Nevertheless, although this zombie is a powerful bastard, it’s hard to think of him as a true zombie as opposed to a reanimated corpse who kills. Zombies seem to consume more than discriminately kill as he does and it’s rare that you see a zombie who can shoot lightning with his eyes.

Published by

Mike Kloran

Educational Designer from Brooklyn New York. I'm a teacher, an artist, an athlete and constantly doing, making, drawing, creating! It's a busy life but I'm doing what I love and that's what matters most to me!

Leave a Reply

