Dawn of the Dead watercolor

Dawn of the Dead

While searching around for images this past week I came across this incredible watercolor painting for Dawn of the Dead. I’ve seen a lot of images created for movie posters but this is just incredible. Watercolor is very hard to control and work with and if you’re making an image for a movie poster you really need to be able to create a clear likeness. Yet watercolor works best when you let it be a bit loose and free.

This poster image does a brilliant job of creating both clear likenesses of the characters, gives a sense of the events in the film and just looks fantastic.

Unfortunately I haven’t been able to find any attribution for the image. So can you help? Who made this? I’d love to link to their site and see some more of their work.

UPDATE: 
My buddy James has some mad Google skills and helped find the artist of this awesome artwork in just a few hours!

The artist is Ron Mahoney and he’s an accomplished children’s author which is pretty awesome. Loving illustration and artwork I find a lot of people are surprised by my bloody messy monsters because most of my work is actually really cute and fun. So I was really glad to see this illustrators work in the children’s field since I first got to see him through this bloody masterpiece.

Just a note to say thanks, James is also doing some fun illustration work and you can check him out at his webcomic: Dog In A Basket 

Published by

Mike Kloran

I am an Educational Designer from Brooklyn New York. I'm a teacher, an artist, an athlete and constantly doing, making, drawing, creating! It's a busy life but I'm doing what I love and that's what matters most to me!

Leave a Reply

