The Zombie in Ghostbusters

I LOVED the Ghostbusters when I was a kid. But I have a terrible confession to make. I actually cried in the theater when I was little. And this is the story of why.

Ghostbusters_cover

I was seven years old when my mom took me to the theater to see Ghostbusters. That same year I got to see the Gremlins for the first time and was absolutely terrified. I had never seen a horror movie before and didn’t really understand what was going on.  Ghostbusters actually freaked me out. Even now, looking back, some of the special effects in that movie are better, or at least more convincing than some of the CG monsters we see today. I particularly remember screaming in the theater “THER’S A DRAGON IN THE FRIDGE!!!” Several times and being told to shut up.

Hey, I was seven! I didn’t know it was supposed to be a comedy.

One particular shot near the end of the movie really freaked me out though. When all the ghosts escape from the containment unit and get unleashed on New York, there’s a sweet shot of a guy who gets into a cab completely oblivious to the fact that his cab driver is a corpse. This seems to be the one and only “zombie” in the movie and I hesitate to call it that. To the best of our knowledge it didn’t go around biting or eating anyone and didn’t actually act at all like a zombie. It was just a ghost inhabiting a corpse. But still. . . that image . . . that face . . .

Taxidriverghost
It looks GOOD.

So the moral of the story?

There isn’t one. It’s just a really good memory of being a kid. Ok, I hear you saying it already: “Good memory!? But Mike you screamed and cried and got told to shut up in the theater because there was a terror dog in Dana’s fridge!? How can that possibly be a good memory!?”

Because right after the movie ended I was on the street jumping up and down and doing a little dance singing the theme song and announcing to the world that I wanted to be a Ghostbuster. My mom must have been so embarrassed, but I remember that SO clearly.

Published by

Mike Kloran

I am an Educational Designer from Brooklyn New York. I'm a teacher, an artist, an athlete and constantly doing, making, drawing, creating! It's a busy life but I'm doing what I love and that's what matters most to me!

Leave a Reply

