wizards

wizards

As many of you have seen on this blog I’ve posted a number of different types of zombies.But there are also a wide variety of survivors. If you want to be technical or look at it from a writers standpoint, there are really just certain character types that get used quite often in various stories. Some of the survivors I’ve written about before are cannibals, feral kids, hunters and a few others. The type I’m posting about here today are called wizards.

I really wasn’t sure what to call these guys. I thought about old wise men. Although to be fair here, they could very well be old wise women as well. But since I recently did an illustration of Dale from The Walking Dead, I thought it was a perfect opportunity to use that particular image to point out the kind of survivor he was, and so I went with the wise man.

When I say wizards or wise old man what I mean is people with a lot of experience. They tend to be fairly calm in the face of danger and they tend to ask the right kinds of questions. They have enough experience in their lives because they’re older or they’ve just done a lot of things. They don’t actually need to be so old per se, but they know a lot they’ve been through a lot and experience has taught them about people and the world.

Dale was a great character. For a time he was the moral center of the group. And when he died it was a terrible blow because we knew he was the moral center if we didn’t know it consciously. Once he was gone, Herschel really became the moral center of the group. And who is Herschel but another example of the same wise old character type. Now Hershel’s gone from the show, and we have to ask ourselves who the moral center of the group is. As it stands, as of this writing, the group is splintered and all over the place. We can only hope that they’re going to get back together again. We can only hope that Rick will finally step up and be the leader we want him to be. And not just another Jack from lost.

Published by

Mike Kloran

I am an Educational Designer from Brooklyn New York. I'm a teacher, an artist, an athlete and constantly doing, making, drawing, creating! It's a busy life but I'm doing what I love and that's what matters most to me!

One thought on “wizards”

Leave a Reply

