The Map of Zombies

Each week I choose a theme, and I bring you zombie related stories and art related to that theme. It sort of feels like being the zombie Ira Glass. This weeks theme, zombie art. So to start off, let me tell you a little secret about being an artist. 

As a creator, an illustrator a painter, every once in a while you want to quit because you see something so awesome it sort of dwarfs what you yourself are working on. Like the first time you see a Bonnard painting and you think you’ll never get color like that. Or the first time you see a Frank Frazetta illustration and you think I’ll never make dynamic images like that. Or, like when I started working on my long list of different zombie types. Then, months later I come across this amazing art print on Kickstarter and I just think, shit, it’s already been done.

I’ll tell you one other thing about being an artist. That feeling only lasts a little while before you come to your senses and say, oh shit what I’m doing is totally different. Hahahaha. What was I thinking!?

But hey, this IS pretty awesome.

The Map of Zombies

From the Kickstarter Page:
The Map of Zombies will be a 24″x36″ poster (the same size as my H.P. Lovecraft’s Dreamlands poster map) that takes you on a tour of every imaginable type of zombie in a visual format. Drawn in the style of a vintage medical chart, it identifies over 350 different types of zombies from horror movies, books, video games, comics, manga and TV shows.

Hot damn!

Well it seems the artist, Jason Bradley Thompson is already WAY past his original goal of a thousand dollars and has hit twenty grand which is pretty damned amazing.

Click here for the Kickstarter page to find out more. 

Published by

Mike Kloran

Educational Designer from Brooklyn New York. I'm a teacher, an artist, an athlete and constantly doing, making, drawing, creating! It's a busy life but I'm doing what I love and that's what matters most to me!

Leave a Reply

