I’m a Walker

It was a bit tough figuring out my costume this year.

Maybe that sounds crazy but for the longest time I was planning on going as Bane from Batman but didn’t have the mask. I’m living in Tokyo right now and although Halloween is catching on, it’s not a big holiday. Most people aren’t really sure what it’s about. There is a holiday in Japan called Obon when the spirits of the dead come back for about a week and everyone welcomes them by spending time with their families, visiting family graves and generally recognizing their family members who have passed away. I liken Halloween to that in that in Ireland people tried to scare the ghosts away with scary masks. (Not totally accurate but it gets the point across in the shortest way possible.)

Getting a costume I liked was problematic so I decided to go as a runner. BORING costume I know but what are you going to do?  It just didn’t sit right with me though. Being JUST a runner. So on my lunch break I dashed off to a local shop that had a few halloween goodies and grabbed some white makeup and some fake blood.

walker
And Here’s the result!

White makeup as a base with some blood on the mouth and I was good to go. I also used bit of black marker to do dark highlights, and darken my lips just a bit.

walker

With a nice guttural drool sound coming out and a bit of a hiss, I skulked about with this look on my face scaring the hell out of the party goers.

walker

It helped to  have a rubbery face that I can sort of distort to the horror of those around me. The fun part about it, that I’m not sure most people got was that I was dressed as a walker, but I was dressed as a runner. Runner as walker. Get it? Yeah it’s not as funny when I write it out but I thought it was good.


zombie
The hard part was going home alone on the train and the kinds of looks I got from people.  It was actually kind of fun being a freak for a night.

993430_10151653295162443_1932763693_n
E
ven though Halloween isn’t a major holiday here, loads of people were on the streets living it up.  So much so that my friends and I only stayed at the first club we went to for twenty minutes. We were the only people there and all the action was on the street; an endless parade of costumes and characters streaming by.  So we hung out in front of a convenience store drinking cheap beer and talking to everyone that walked past.

Fan-friggin-tastic.

Published by

Mike Kloran

I am an Educational Designer from Brooklyn New York. I'm a teacher, an artist, an athlete and constantly doing, making, drawing, creating! It's a busy life but I'm doing what I love and that's what matters most to me!

Leave a Reply

