Abandoned Places

We forget sometimes in zombie movies and stories that the larger world view is a great deal of the fun of the movies. Well, when I say  “we” I really mean “I” and then only sometimes.

Settings for scary stories are sometimes a real treat. When you’re a kid things like old castles in the mountains of far away places like Transylvania seem like exotic and exciting locations. With the zombie or outbreak genre of horror we are presented not with looming ancient buildings but rotted out or at least beat up modern ones. We get a sense of what the world would be like without us.

On the iPhone APP Flipboard I follow a feed called “Our Modern Ruins.”

It’s a brilliant feed and well worth checking out. A few moments there will let your imagination run wild with stories and adventures that could be taking place right now anywhere in the world where buildings, cars, planes and boats have been left to rot.

You could also do a quick Google Image search and come up with some results like these:

abandoned house abandoned-places-worldwide-part3-7 old-architecture-houses-buildings-abandoned-abandoned-house-1440x900-hd-wallpaper

Published by

Mike Kloran

Educational Designer from Brooklyn New York. I'm a teacher, an artist, an athlete and constantly doing, making, drawing, creating! It's a busy life but I'm doing what I love and that's what matters most to me!

4 thoughts on “Abandoned Places”

  1. Really great right?

    After going bad to my Google image search I couldn’t find the original images. They are all posted on other blogs. So if anyone reading this knows the original sources I’d love to know what they are. Credit where credit is due.

    Like

    1. No. I just pulled them from a quick google image search. I need to go back a bit later and add photo credits and links.

      Like

Leave a Reply

