Character Bio – Frank and Carl

Just seeing a zombie is usually accompanied by a sudden horrible feeling and the thought of how incredibly gross they are. In the movies they are just the nastiest, gooiest, grossest things.

In a kids’ book I wanted them to be all that but fun; to play up the gross out factor kids love without making them horrifying.

Enter Frank and Carl.

20131016-092248.jpg
Frank
20131016-092308.jpg
Carl

Without giving anything away I’ll just put it out there that these two guys play a key role in the telling of this tale and are also the first two zombies drawn for this book.

Back in 2010 I took part in a group show with other artists in the Society of Children’s Books Writers and Illustrators. It was a lot of fun and gave me my first push to make this story a reality.

20131016-092837.jpg

Back then they looked like this. And I still love that original look.

Although most zombies have no recollection of their lives before turning into the undead, in a kids’ book anything is possible. I like to think these guys worked in an office and were good friends who hated their jobs. Call me an optimist but I imagine these guys being happier as zombies. Free to leave their cubicles and wander where they like together.

They might not be the heroes of the zombie apocalypse but with a little luck they might at least be enjoying the end of the world.

To see these boys in action, please check out the book by clicking here.

Published by

Mike Kloran

I am an Educational Designer from Brooklyn New York. I'm a teacher, an artist, an athlete and constantly doing, making, drawing, creating! It's a busy life but I'm doing what I love and that's what matters most to me!

Leave a Reply

