Character Bio – Saru

Saru was a character I’ve been playing and experimenting with for a very long time. As I was trying to come up with a partner for the fat lazy cat character Giler, I felt he needed a sporty, active counterpart. I also sort of wanted to be his counterpart so I drew a version of myself as a monkey-boy and came up with Saru.

S stinks boards saru cover

 

Saru is the Japanese word for monkey and the name was originally influenced by my moving to Japan. I was never really sure what sort of monkey he was though and preferred him to be just a monkey and not any particular species. He seems to have a bit of gorilla mixed in there somewhere though. He’s also the character that got the most reworking while I was making the book. 

I generally do the color for all the images of a character at the same time in order to maintain consistency but had put Saru through some design changes. When it came time to redraw the character and redo his colors I found that I had completely run out of the original paper stock used for the other characters and had to search about frantically for more. Unfortunately I was never able to find more and Saru went through revision after revision trying to get the color saturation a bit better on the paper.

Oddly enough, although I was often happy with the way the actual drawing came out, once scanned into the computer I found the color balance often changed leaving some lighter patches and some darker patches and a bit of inconsistency in the coloring.

Still in all I’m pretty happy with the way he came out and I’m looking forward to developing him a bit more in future adventures.

Published by

Mike Kloran

Educational Designer from Brooklyn New York. I'm a teacher, an artist, an athlete and constantly doing, making, drawing, creating! It's a busy life but I'm doing what I love and that's what matters most to me!

Leave a Reply

