Machete guy

machete guy

Whenever I do an image search for zombies, this guy’s face pops up. He’s a zombie from the Dawn of the Dead. (You can tell cause he’s blue and his blood is so red.) One of the reasons I sort of love this character is the machete in his head. The effect was done by cutting a half circle out of a machete, placing it on the actor’s head, and quickly pulling it away. When the film is reversed it looks like he’s being cracked in the head with a machete. AWESOME!

That’s just the sort of special effects creativity that made Tom Savini the make up and effects expert a success. It’s also something I was incredibly amazed by as a kid. As much as I look back and feel how dated the films and effects are, I still remember this guy with a sort of child-like sense of wonder. These days anything can be done using computers but I sort of miss the creativity used by effects experts on a budget.

Published by

Mike Kloran

Educational Designer from Brooklyn New York. I'm a teacher, an artist, an athlete and constantly doing, making, drawing, creating! It's a busy life but I'm doing what I love and that's what matters most to me!

Leave a Reply

