How I make zombies

After making all these images I thought I’d take a quick minute to show you what goes in to each one.

This is the first pencil sketch of this zombie chomping on a victim.

zombie pencil

Once the pencils are done I ink the image and erase the pencil.


zombie ink

With that done I color the image with the blood as the last touch.

zombie color


This is all done on paper with traditional media. I don’t use photoshop very well at all and find it both frustrating and annoying to use. The only time I use it is to touch up any little mistakes that might creep in as I’m working. I try to keep these to a minimum though as I don’t want to spend all my time doing touch ups on crappy drawings. I’d rather just make good drawings.

Published by

Mike Kloran

I am an Educational Designer from Brooklyn New York. I'm a teacher, an artist, an athlete and constantly doing, making, drawing, creating! It's a busy life but I'm doing what I love and that's what matters most to me!

Leave a Reply

