waiting

waiting
This is going to sound redundant but the idea of surviving the zombie apocalypse is seeing it all the way to the end. I mean, we want to get through it and go on to live fulfilling lives when it’s done. Are we actually going to be able to destroy each and every zombie? Not on our own no. And the good thing is, we don’t have to. Time and the elements are going to take care of most of that for us. If you are able to get a steady supply of fresh water and food, plus a good place to stay where you are shielded from the elements and the walkers can’t get you, then the summer heat and the winter cold are going to do most of the work for you.

In theory at least.

In a lot of stories zombies come back and stalk the earth regardless of the physical laws of nature. Their eyes never rot, they turn to leathery things, they keep moving regardless of how well they’ve fed or how little water they’ve drunk. The beauty of story telling is that you can defy logic and reality I suppose. To me, a major factor that distinguished 28 Days Later was the fact that the infected eventually starved and died off. Brilliant.

Published by

Mike Kloran

I am an Educational Designer from Brooklyn New York. I'm a teacher, an artist, an athlete and constantly doing, making, drawing, creating! It's a busy life but I'm doing what I love and that's what matters most to me!

2 thoughts on “waiting”

  1. I love zombie movies/shows/books/comics and I always wonder the same thing – when will they rot out completely? Surely they can’t survive forever!!! I read a book once where they went into the deep snowy regions to wait it out – apparently the zombies couldn’t go there. What a clean way to end it 🙂 Not that I can imagine the zombies would feel a whole lot anyway- but what’s logical in a zombie story anyway?!

    Like

    1. Great point.

      Some writers say that they aren’t affected by the elements or by bacteria that would cause them to rot.

      I tend to think the elements would be bad for their skin.

      So unfortunately there’s no standard and it depends on the writers. 28 days later is the only one I know of that set an exact time.

      Like

Leave a Reply

