Made Out Alive

I’m not really sure if this is a student film or just something some people made in their free time. I didn’t care enough to dig much.

If this was something my friends and I had made on a weekend just for shits and giggles I’d be pretty happy with it. I would say: “It’s imperfect but it was fun to make and we can say we did it.”

If this was something I made as a student project I’d probably say the same thing.

So take everything I’m about to say with a grain of salt.

This was a pretty horrible movie.

The Good:
The story plays out to some degree the way I like, lots of chaos and people moving through the story without really understanding what’s going on. They simply react to what’s happening around them and try to figure things out making a lot of guesses and mistakes along the way. There are stories where people seem to automatically understand exactly what’s going on and make wild assumptions that turn out to be true. That seems a little less realistic to me.

The Bad:
unfortunately there’s a lot of it.

First of all the acting. The one good thing I can say about the acting is that it’s consistent. Unfortunately it’s consistently bad. None of the actors really stands out as any better than the others.

The music and lighting in the movie are pretty bad too. Most of the time I get the feeling that they are using filters and kind of cheesy music in order to cover-up the bad acting. It’s actually kind of a smart thing if you’re a student, and you have student actors, and you need to try and make your movie look better than it really is. That’s the sort of trick that works. Unfortunately it’s also sort of an obvious form of misdirection.

There are jumps in the movie where the sound editing really doesn’t go smoothly, changes from interior to exterior shots in particular seem to really jump.

There are also some pretty amazing things going on on the road. I think the idea was that people trying to escape whatever was going on around them would head to the road and that in this situation they would certainly flag down moving vehicles for help. But the people that the main character runs in to on the road seem a little bit much. Especially later in the film when SPOILER ALERT he picks up someone from a government research facility who also happens to be crazy and the first thing the guy says is a confession of what went wrong at the facility. Wow, that’s convenient. We’re coming close to the end of the movie and haven’t really explained what started all this, let’s just have a random encounter with the one guy who can explain it all in 90 seconds of rambling crazy dialogue.

So, if you are thinking of making your own horror flick, particularly a zombie pic and you’re casting around for a good look into the world of self-made movies. . .

This might be for you!

Published by

Mike Kloran

Educational Designer from Brooklyn New York. I'm a teacher, an artist, an athlete and constantly doing, making, drawing, creating! It's a busy life but I'm doing what I love and that's what matters most to me!

Leave a Reply

